Located in one of the Old Quarter's traditional squares, the Plaza del Puente, alongside one of the entrances to La Ereta park on the slopes of Mount Benacantil, which is topped by the Santa Bárbara Castle. The museum is spread over 3 floors. It is a cultural and educational space where visitors can learn about the history of water in the city. The Pozos or Wells of Garrigós are next to the museum. Although there are still question marks over the origins of these wells, it is believed that at least one of them dates from the times of Moorish rule while the others are from the 16th century. However, they were given their current layout in the 19th century, in an attempt to lessen the effects of the prolonged droughts suffered by the city. They were used until 1898, when water began to be piped in from the nearby town of Sax. Excavated from the rock, these wells can hold 141,000 dm3, 275,000 dm3 and 425,000 dm3.